“How all occasions….” Update: July 2015

HAMLET-Steel-TITLEA LONG OVERDUE UPDATE: 7.19.15

A lot of recent setbacks once again has stalled the film. We lost four of our actors, three of them in major roles in a very short span of time. Because of that, the FALL 2014, WINTER 2014 and the SPRING 2015 shoots never happened. So, here we are in the summer of 2015 working to get ready for more shooting. June was the two year anniversary of when we began shooting on HAMLET.

To update, I have been contacting various organizations looking for locations to shoot at and continue to do so. I also checked in with our current set locations to see if they are still on board. It turns out that they are, they all just recently re-committed to the film; also, they let me know they are ready and able to accommodate our production once we get schedules to them, which is really good news. Still looking for any and able locations. If you are interested in serving as a location for our little production, please feel free to get in touch.

I am going to set up another Community Casting Call to try to fill in all the major roles plus the ones we lost. I will post information as soon as I secure a location for that event. I am also looking at a place to host a celebratory screening, featuring the short films we made in the last year and a half. So, look for new information on that coming soon. Here is the new schedule:

SUMMER 2015 SHOOT:
+
GERTRUDE/POLONIUS/HAMLET RE-SHOOT – Hyde Park
+HAMLET SPEECH – ACT 1, SCENE 3  – “Should this too, too solid flesh melt…”
+INT./EXT. HAMLET SPEECH #1: BOARD ROOM
+HAMLET SPEECH – ACT 3, SCENE 2 – APARTMENT INTERIOR – “The Play’s the thing…”
+HAMLET SPEECH – ACT 4, SCENE 3 – EXTERIOR BRIDGE – “How all occasions inform against me…”

POSSIBLE SCENES:
+INT. HAMLET SPEECH #7 – Hallway + “To Be or Not To Be…”

WE NEED TO RE-CAST:
We lost the actors playing The CAPTAIN, Guildenstern, and Rosencrantz. We lost Mike Marin as HORATIO. So we have been pushed further behind the schedule.

CASTING CALL:
Another open casting call will happen again soon, so help me spread the word.

NEW SHOOTING SCHEDULE:

LATE SUMMER 2015 SHOOT
+
RE-SHOOT: EXT. CHICAGO – NIGHT w/ FORTINBRAS & new CAPTAIN – “Go Captain, from me greet the Danish King…” – New Location, New CAPTAIN
+INT. FORTINBRAS re-enters the game – FINALE: POST-DUEL “Yo Death, what up with all the dead bodies, bro?”

FALL 2015 SHOOT – TBD
RE-SHOOT: Ext HAMLET APARTMENT – EVENING w/ Horatio, Barnardo & Marcellus – Telling Hamlet of the Ghost

WINTER 2015 SHOOT – TBD

SPRING 2016 SHOOT
+INT. NEWBERRY? – HORATIO & GERTURDE w/ GENTLEWOMAN talking about OPHELIA
+INT./EXT. HORATIO meets PIRATES: “Hamlet faxed me a soliloquy!”
+INT. HAMLET & HORATIO talk about Hammy’s escape from England – HALLWAY + OFFICE maybe OSRIC?
+EXT. HORATIO, HAMLET, BARNARDO, and MARCELLUS – NIGHTWATCH – meet the GHOST
+EXT. HAMLET SPEECH #4 – NIGHTWATCH (“They kelp us drunkards…”)
+OPHELIA STUFF
+Begin filming the FINALE: Fencing Match + Hand-to-hand fight
+Opening/Closing? – Stage w/ crowd
+”The Mousetrap?”w/theater troupe and crowd
+CLAUDIUS STUFF
+GERTRUDE STUFF
+INT. HAMLET & ROSENCRANTZ & GUIDLENSTERN – CAFE/NEWBERRY
+MORE HAMLET SOLILOQUIES
+DEATH OF HAMLET’S FATHER FLASHBACK
+POLONIUS STUFF
+LAERTES STUFF

SUMMER 2016 SHOOT: RESHOOTS+ADDITIONAL = TBD

FALL 2016 TBD

WINTER 2016 – FINAL CUT & PREMIERE?

So, there we are. I will be concentrating on getting as much of the HAMLET soliloquies filmed while I work to re-cast and cast more actors. Once I get a good sound mix on the recent “Three Scenes from HAMLET” and a ADR session done on the first “TWO SCENES from HAMLET”, I will continue to send them out to festivals and media outlets to promote the feature film’s production. I will also be posting clips to a new Facebook Movie Page (that will go up soon) and my YouTube page to promote the production.

I really believe in this project, as it is not an easy project or an expected project, but says what I want to say about Native American Cinema. If completed, it could change the way Native American films get made independently and maybe change how the industry and society at large looks at Native actors and directors.

I am going to produce a “Wisdom of the Sages” Video for my YouTube channel that goes into why I want to do a Hamlet movie like this.

cropped-iconoclasts-poster-1.jpgIn other Reshade Production News

I am scripting and sketching out NEW “Mikey Redshade Saves the World” comics, that are partially inspired by SDCC reactions. So, look for those in the coming months. I want to restart WOS Videos on my YouTube page, so the Hamlet Explanation may do that. I continue to prep for new drawings to add to NAMELESS. The recent ICONOCLASTS showing at the James R. Thompson Center in the Loop of Chicago has kept me busy and away from new drawing for a while. So look for those to start up again.

I have been writing more on BLUE WOMAN! The second volume of the short stories collection, slated for Dec. 5 of this year may be pushed back to accommodate this new material. But I have began two new stories: “Blue Woman in Space” and “All Indians Must Die: The Last Charge of Moon-Swallow Woman and her Immortals” which is a novella that is part of a trio of stories that ends the Blue Woman stories.

I have put “A Rez Tale” on hold while I figure out how to structure the ending. So, that project has been delayed.

I also work as a Media Mentor for CPS through Adobe Youth Voices. In that capacity, I help CPS teachers teach students how to produce videos and print imagery that showcases their voice. While recently, it has been announced that Adobe will no longer fund person-to-person programming, essentially getting rid of mentors and AYV events, we will continue to do our work until November 20.

So, I am announcing that soon, I will be opening an Educational Component page here to offer my services as a media mentor and speaker/presenter on Native American Representation. I do this already, typically pro-bono. Stay tuned for that.

Thank you all. I never try to solicit monetary support and I will work to continue that. I believe in my work and what it represents. You should never have to pay for that. I absolutely hate how much commerce is ingrained into art. That the validity of an artist is measured by how much he sells rather than the content of their messaging. I also hate that authority over Native American culture is so easily bought up. I try to steer away from that. Which is only a part of why I am trying to produce HAMLET in such a way.

Your support means everything to me and I will do my best to produce meaningful movies, art, and writings that you will cherish and enjoy, and also get a thoughtful message from. Thanks again to you all.

With respect,

Ernest M Whiteman III
Director, Writer, Actor, Producer – HAMLET

HAMLET-PRODUCTION-8-27-2014-6-Large

Leave a Reply

